NASA gives eastern Pacific Ocean’s Hurricane Eugene ‘eye exam’

NASA gives eastern Pacific Ocean’s Hurricane Eugene ‘eye exam’

NASA gives eastern Pacific Ocean’s Hurricane Eugene ‘eye exam’

NASA satellites gave Hurricane Eugene in the Eastern Pacific Ocean a “eye test” while studying the storm in infrared and visible light. NASA satellite images taken at different times showed Eugene’s eye opens and closes.

Despite its distance from Earth, Eugene caused dangerous swells along the west coast of Baja California on July 10.

Hurricane Eugene forms from a low pressure area that has developed rapidly on a Friday by Tropical Storm, from July 7 to 5 pm. EDT (2100 GMT).

Sunday through July 9 at 8 am (1200 GMT), infrared imaging satellite NOAA West revealed how a storm eye reached Category 2 on the Saffir-Simpson wind hurricane scale. Eugene, located about 565 miles (185 kilometers) southwest of the southern tip of Baja California, Mexico, at the time.

It was another revealing experience at 2:15 pm EDT (1815 GMT) when the Moderate Resolution Imaging Spectroradiometer, or the MODIS instrument aboard NASA’s Terra satellite captured the image of a clear-eyed light hurricane Eugene.

The image showed powerful and high storms surrounding an eye and higher of the colder clouds as less 94 degrees Fahrenheit (less 70 degrees Celsius) had sometimes completely surrounded the eye. When Terra passed over a head, Eugene had already entered a Category 3 hurricane on the Saffir-Simpson wind hurricane scale, ensuring sustained maximum winds of 185 km / h (185 km / h).

NASA examines the view of the Pacific Ocean east of the Pacific Ocean
The 9 of July of 2017 to 14,15. EDT (18 h 15 UTC), NASA’s Terra satellite captured this visible light from a hurricane Eugene off the west coast of Mexico.

Credit: NASA Goddard MODIS Quick Response Team
The instrument of the next visual infrared (VIIRS) radiometer aboard the NOAA-NASA Suomi NPP satellite has captured a visible light image of Eugene’s tropical storm off the west coast of Mexico on July 9 at 4:30 p.m.

EDT (20:30 GMT). The image showed that the eye was filled with clouds. Six hours later, at 11 o’clock. EDT the National Hurricane Center noted that Eugene’s strengthening trend seemed to be over. The eye of the hurricane became naked and full of clouds and the convection in the eye wall is not as symmetrical as before July 9.

On Monday, July 10 at 11 am EDT (1500 GMT), the National Hurricane Center (CNH) noted that NOAA Eugene continued to weaken as it moved parallel to the west coast of Baja California. However, NHC warned that “high surfing currents and wear are prone along the west coast of the peninsula of Baja California and Southern California.”
NHC Prognosticator Chris Landsea pointed out in the discussion EDT 11-hour sea bottom generated by Eugene affect parts of the west coast of the Baja California peninsula and will extend north to parts of southern California tonight and on Tuesday 11 of July. These waves are likely to cause life-threatening surfing and tearing conditions.

The center of Hurricane Eugene is located near 18.7 degrees north latitude and 18.7 degrees west longitude 117.2. It is about 555 miles (890 km) west-southwest of the southern tip of Baja California. Eugene was moving northwest at 10 km / h (17 km / h) and this movement is expected to continue for the next two days.

Maximum sustained winds have dropped to near 85 mph (140 km / h) with higher bursts. It is expected that a continuous weakening in the next 48 hours. Eugene is expected to become a tropical storm on Tuesday and left shortly before Wednesday, July 12.

About author

Leave a reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *